Monthly Exercise Goals

phonto
I like to buy things. I don’t like to exercise. I feel like my life would be less complicated if those were switched and I didn’t buy much but exercised a lot. My husband would also like me to not buy much. I wouldn’t say I’m the biggest spender – but darn those Target endcaps! I tend to feel guilty about spending money on myself when I don’t feel like I’ve “earned” it. So – this is kind of what this post is about.

I like to think I’ve always been somewhat athletic, and I do like a competition… but there’s just something about exercising [for the health of it] that kind of makes me squirm now. There doesn’t seem to be any tangible rewards for getting your sweat on, at least not the immediately gratifying rewards I like so much. What is more terrible is that I am a healthcare provider – and I’m constantly reminded of how important exercise is.

So, I thought I’d try something new this year. Instead of going for that perfect bod image, I’m going to try smaller (and more tangible) rewards for exercise. For each month, I’ve picked an exercise challenge and with it a reward for completing it! Don’t get me wrong – this is not me saying that material things are important and that’s the only way I’ll stay motivated. If I don’t complete the challenge, I’m not going to die. This is just me trying something new, trying to stay healthy, and having fun doing so.

ExerciseChallenges

Links to:

If you like this idea, why don’t you join me? Holler back, and tell me your monthly challenges/rewards.

3 responses

  1. […] was sick in late February, and my exercise goal of the month (100 body squats a day) went out the window and so did my exercise goal for March. This month […]

  2. Quite a while back Tiff gave us a book by Gary Thomas, Every Body Matters. Great read. Stresses being in shape to be ready for whatever work God has for us to do. Another idea for a different motivation:)

    1. I already read that one! It was good 🙂

Leave a Reply

