Small Closet Challenge {Part Two}

Whew! That was a whirlwind! Trying to do everything I wanted to do to my small apartment closet was difficult – because it’s SO small. There’s just not a lot of room to work with, which means a limited amount of options when designating spots for everything. But, using the information I had gathered from my  Small Closet Challenge {Part One} I  did it!

First, I allotted some time in my day to go through everything. The pile system worked wonders, and was quite gratifying. I used bags to collect each pile to make clean up easier. The piles I used were :

  • Trash – items that no one can use anymore (underwear, unpaired socks, etc.)
  • Plato’s Closet / Goodwill – items that don’t fit, are itchy, or that I just don’t like anymore, but still have use.
  • Keep – basics and sentimental items

Some suggest taking everything out of your closet and only hanging things back up that you like. I did not have the time to get it all done in one day, so simply plucking a few items at a time and putting them straight into their perspective bags helped a LOT.

Next, I made a list of basics that I had and also what I would like to have. (See my list here!) I also made a mental list of the types of items I needed to keep in my closet. I was able to do a small sketch of how I wanted my closet to function. Function is key in a small apartment.

Once I organized my remaining items, I took to my creative side. Time to decorate! I took my bag of unwanted clothes to Plato’s Closet. I love it there! They take your last-season clothes and buy them from you. It usually only takes a half to one hour for them to go through your things (depending on how much you bring). The hardest part is trying to not spend more money than you make off your clothes in the retail section. So great! For 14 items, I received $32.70! I used this money to purchase organizing items like baskets, and decorating items like spray paint and craft paper. This re-do literally cost me nothing.

To make my closet not only functional but visually appealing, I did some fun and unnecessary primping of the area. For example:

I made all my hangers match.

I matched hangers and gave a touch of gold to the plastic bin I already owned.

I matched hangers and gave a touch of gold to the plastic bin I already owned.

I put some gold glitz in several places.

I found some 75 cent wastebaskets in a clearance aisle, painted them gold, and used them as organization tools!

I found some 75 cent wastebaskets in a clearance aisle, painted them gold, and used them as organization tools!

I was able to splurge and buy some gold baskets I wanted with the money I got from Plato's closet!

I was able to splurge and buy some gold baskets I wanted with the money I got from Plato’s closet!

"I love gooooold" - Austin Powers Goldmember

“I love gooooold” – Austin Powers Goldmember

I super glued some placemats together to make a “dirt catch” of sorts.

I keep my most used shoes in the bottom of the closet, and this shoe mat will help keep things clean!

I keep my most used shoes in the bottom of the closet, and this shoe mat will help keep things clean!

And a little inspiration never hurt.

A goodwill frame, some scrapbook paper, and a Bible verse will keep my mind in the right place.

A goodwill frame, some scrapbook paper, and a Bible verse will keep my mind in the right place.

All-in-all, this was a great project for me. I feel MUCH accomplished It’s my hope that you are inspired to get creative with your own spring cleaning!

Leave a Reply

