Spinach Smoothie Recipe

IMG_1408

“What is THAT… spinach WHAT?!”

This is usually the reaction I get when people see me carrying around my spinach smoothie.  The words “spinach” and “smoothie” are rarely put together in one sentence. Lately, I’ve been using those two words a lot! I try to explain that I drink spinach smoothies because:

  • You can’t even taste the spinach.
  • In our world of pizza and burgers, I don’t get enough vegetables.
  • This is one more cup of spinach than I would have had today.
  • It’s a delicious snack to go.
  • YOU CAN’T EVEN TASTE THE SPINACH!

Despite the scrunched noses and downward turned eyes, most people are inquisitive enough to at least ask “why?” Regardless of the way looks, this smoothie recipe is by far my favorite combination of fruits and vegetables.

It was my sister-in-law who introduced me to the concept, by making me try her “green machine” smoothie. My husband and I are trying to be more health conscious and we decided to look into how we could integrate more vegetables in our lives. We watched a number of nutritional documentaries including one called “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead” by Joe Cross. (If you haven’t watched it yet… you SHOULD.) The main focus of the film was a man who replaced all his meals for 60 days with fruit and vegetable juicing. [Spoiler Alert] This guy ended up losing a ton of weight, severely reduced the amount of daily medications he was taking, and basically freed him of an awful skin disease!  Doctors monitored him the whole time, and the micronutrients he was feeding himself were apparently exactly what his body needed. Our juicing attempt was less than acceptable, but it led us to the smoothie revolution!

IMG_1404

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked spinach leaves
  • 8 oz of water
  • 8 oz 2% milk (or whatever milk you like)
  • 1 medium banana
  • (Optional: a dash of cinnamon or a drop of vanilla extract)

Using a blender, combine all ingredients for a refreshing smoothie.

Nutritional Values: (Courtesy http://caloriecount.about.com)

  • Calories 225
  • Calories from Fat 45
  • Total Fat 5.0 g (8%)
  • Cholesterol 19mg (6%)
  • Dietary Fiber 3.7g (15%)
  • Sugars 26.0 g
  • Protein 9.7 g
  • High in Phosphorus, Potassium, Riboflavin, Vitamin A, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12, Vitamin C
  • High in sugar content; consume responsibly

As a Registered Nurse, I have a moral responsibility to coax the general public into healthier lifestyles. I know… there are so many opinions out there about what to take, how to eat, where to exercise – it can be a chaotic process when trying to figure out what is best for one self. Not one person is the same, but you’ll never get anywhere until you take that first step! I just hope that this recipe will find it’s way into your regimen! For me, I’ll continue to drink the chlorophyll concoction happily. Don’t like it? More for me 🙂

~Addie~

Leave a Reply

